Posted by: fireweaver | November 11, 2007

goodbye

it was all over last night.

my poor mother, singlehandedly holding down an incredibly stressed-out fort, hadn’t slept in nearly 2 days byt he time i saw her. she just held me and cried. “michelle, i’m just so glad you’re here.” the rest of her family, just unsure of what to do, like most anyone would be, ended up simply dumping off all duties to my mom, the RN.

grandma finally left last night just after midnight. it was good for her to go – it killed me to see her in that state, considering that all my training said that this was a creature in distress, and to not humanely euthanize her was morally reprehensible. yet another reason to thank fate that i am NOT a human-doctor.

arrangements had already been made by the old lady herself, and she was quite particular about almost all of them. now that she’s gracefully passed on in her sleep, things are moving quickly: the visitation is today, and the funeral will be tomorrow morning. my exhausted mother can get home and sleep in her own bed nomorrow night.

goodnight, miss Sylvia. we’ll all miss you.

Responses

  1. **hugs**

  2. I don’t know that you’d appreciate hugs from a stranger, but you have my sympathy.

  3. I know it’s a bit tardy, but super big hugs from me and the “mr.”!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

