Posted by: fireweaver | February 25, 2008

random book-bits

i was tagged by Alejna to share a random tidbit from my current book, with the story going a lil’ something like this:

  1. Pick up the nearest book (of at least 123 pages)
  2. Open the book to page 123
  3. Find the 5th sentence
  4. Post the next three sentences
  5. Tag 5 people

from a smidge down page 123 of ‘hyperion‘:

“Kassad nodded. He was not sure if he was hearing and understanding Middle English or if the sentence had been in simple Standard. He had no idea if the grizzled archer was another Command School cadet, an instructor, or merely an artifact of the sim.”

right now, i’m liking this book quite a bit. it took **forever** to get off the ground, but i stuck it out due to overwhelmingly positive reviews from people i trust about such things. it is, however, incredibly dense, and while i normally tear through fiction like hurricane winds through grass, this book is being consumed in small morsels, rather like i did the first time i read gibson.

but if we’re telling the truth, i’m totally cheating. the nearest books would be reference texts, being as how i’m in my office. however, i’m quite sure you don’t want snippets out of the blue book (p.123 = rat biology), plumb’s (various calcium salt preps), or nelson & couto (feline cardiac disease).

then again, the next closest book would be the one i continually forget to stash back down in the library, an anthology of vampire short stories:

“I can feel myself trembling like I’ve got a high fever. My disgust has become anger, and I’ve never been good at controlling my anger. And part of me – a dark, dangerous part – has no desire ever to learn.”

as far as tags, well, Suz & Christine, of course, and Ann generally plays along via email.  Matt & Kris, here’s your call to re-start the typing.  and heck, just everyone consider themselves tagged as well.

Responses

  1. Yah, never doubt the Suz, she knows of book and what you should read.

    Hyperion is one of my favoritest ever. I loved Illium too (not with the same intensity of Hyperion, though it is quite entertaining). I’m afraid of Olympos (sequel to Illium), because while Hyperion’s sequel was quite good, I’ve heard horror stories of Illium’s.

    I have just about got Endymion started – I hadn’t actually read that one, so I’ll definitely share a review.

  2. I’m glad you played along! I also enjoyed the added intriguing glimpses into what books were actually closest at hand. (If I blogged in my bedroom, I’d be hard-pressed to determine which book was closest. There are two bookcases next to my bed.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

