Posted by: fireweaver | November 16, 2008

vacancy filled

this harry potter stuff sure is fascinating!

this little charmer has now taken up residence on my couch.  the story goes that she’s about a year old and just abandoned for no particular reason; thusfar, during her time in foster care, no particular issues have surfaced.  she’s quiet and cuddly (she kept trying to climb in my lap the whole car ride home, and settled down only after i draped an arm across the console, which she promptly hooked with her chin and fell asleep on), she’s almost lap-sized, and she hoovered up the food i got her.  she and i are doing just fine, thanks.

we are now taking suggestions for this little whippet’s name.  current contenders: Xyla (as in, those prominent sighthound ribs are as obvious as xylophone bars), Consuela (due to that nap over the console), and Ombra (or some other clever linguistic variant of shadow, since she follows me room to room).  please feel free to drop suggestions in the comments, but for now, we’re sleepy, so goodnight!

naptime!

Responses

  1. Really cute!

  2. She’s beautiful! I’m so happy for you and your new puppy.

    I like Xyla. Not enough names start with X.

  3. Xyla is a great name for her… whippets are divas, ya know! ;^) I’ve been friends w/ tons of whippets over the years (horse show people love ’em) and they are adorable. They really love to burrow under the covers and snooze. My sister lived with two a few years ago and always had to check her bed before flopping down for fear of squishing one! Yay!!! I’m so happy for you. She looks very sweet. Can’t wait to meet her.

  4. YAY! Such a cutie, hon. Congrats on your new fur kid!

  5. How lucky you both are to have found one another! Congrats! She sure is a charmer! Where are you at now?

  6. Congrats!!! She looks comfy at home already. Gotta name her Xyla. . .I love it!

  7. I love her already! I’m really excited and happy you’ve got a new love in your life. 🙂 I can’t wait to meet her!

  8. Hello! I am a visitor from NaBloPoMo.

    When I saw your post here I thought, oh, and italian greyhound! I stand corrected, but I still can’t tell the difference. What a cutie.

  9. aww isnt she adorable…so glad you have found your new puppy love…also missin ya lots

  10. thanks for all the help everyone! Alejna, i quite agree that there are not enough X’s in the world. Kim, whippets are just under half-size greyhounds, and iggies are just under half that. so, it’s all the same looks all around, just different coat sizes!


Leave a Reply

Categories

